Thursday, May 24, 2012

Health Tip: Avoiding Gluten


Wheat

People with Celiac disease should avoid eating gluten, a protein found in most grains, especially wheat.

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics makes these suggestions for avoiding gluten:
  •  Always read food labels. Look for gluten-free foods that are fortified with Iron and Folate.
  •  Opt for whole grains that are naturally gluten free, such as buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, corn, flax and amaranth.
  •  Carefully read restaurant menus and ask questions about ingredients.

Bookmark and Share